Showing posts with label beatles code 2. Show all posts

Kahi confirms the obvious: Bullying is common in girl groups


Kahi, on Beatles' Code, no longer trapped in the bondage that was After School and no longer having to maintain and uphold their image since she is now a solo artist, revealed the unthinkable that is surprising most who are more than naive. If you're skilled in Korean, watch the video below:


Allkpop however, translated it, thankfully, and here is roughly the translation of Kahi's spiel about girl groups, obviously, basing her words off of the After School experience but sincerely talking about the majority of girl groups in general.

Shindong asked [Kahi], "Do outcasts exist in girl groups?"  

Kahi replied, "Of course.  There are outcasts and there are those who make a big deal out of various things and are unlucky for everyone else 'unlucky' used in this sense refers to someone that just comes off unlikable due to their actions or attitude to basically mean someone that you feel is bad fortune to you], those who deserve to get hit, and those who need to get their heads on straight.  There are those who really deserve to be treated affectionately, but how can I be affectionate towards those who seem unlucky for others?"

Mir asked, "Even in After School?"  Kahi replied just as honestly, "Yes. Even in After School, there are those members whom you can't help but love, but there are also those who do not have a presence like, 'Oh, she was here?'  At the time, I was the leader and about to graduate After School.  I had mixed emotions and felt pity.  I wrote [that post] when I was feeling that way."

To be honest, it's not that hard to believe. Idols are just as much singers and dancers as they are actors and actresses. They live behind a facade of perfectness and rainbows when in reality, they're probably experiencing the most painful menstrual cramps or they just got in a fight with their mother... they, basically, never have an actual 'perfect' life. And especially being that they are females, females being the worst type of people ever (sorry, feminists, but I'm a female so I kind of have the right to say whatever) and are too emotional and needy and all these other kinds of things, being bottled up with a group of girls in just one room for so long can get a little bit... hectic.

Just take T-ara for example as they took in the Beatles Code episode. Maybe there wasn't bullying going on but there was definitely some sort of ostracizing... even Jiyeon admitted it subtly:

We had been together for over 3 years, so Hwayoung might have had difficulties being with us. She probably had a hard time adjusting... We... made her feel lonely. 

I'm not even going to try to cover it up. I will bet my life savings (not really) that it happens in basically every single girl group especially once they start reaching 'sky high' fame. Members start getting pig-headed, jealous, more confident and louder than they used to be... compared to the beginning when they all knew they were in the game together but now as they start beating some levels, they realize the game is easier than they thought and they don't need the back-up, anymore.

There's probably just as much 'bonding' as we see on screen and on camera, but when the camera is off, the girls unlock arms, go on their cell phones and start texting or calling their 'real' friends, hence why many girl group members sometimes talk about their 'best friends' on camera, but when asked about the other members of the girl group they quickly reshape themselves and go with the "THEY'RE MY SISTERS!!!11" act. 

Regardless, it's not that hard to tell who's not really the best with their members and who in fact are the more social/interactive ones (take for example, Girls' Generation's Jessica as the least to bond yet Hyoyeon or Sunny is kind of all over the place) but we just have to understand, you know? Not everything is picture perfect and not everyone is going to like each other. It's kind of just how life is and we have to accept it. Plus, they still make great music together so who are we to become infuriated if someone's not as liked as the next?



If you want to leave a comment regarding this topic, do it below. By the way, readers, who do you think, in certain groups, are the more ostracized members? Who do you think Kahi was specifically referring to in After School? Leave your answers in the comment section below and I definitely will be reading them all.

T-ara addresses bullying scandal on Beatles Code 2; Netizens still hate them


Recently, on Beatles Code 2, T-ara shed tears and finally revealed their long-awaited side to the Hwayoung vs T-ara bullying incident, hoping for sympathy yet getting the completely opposite. Translated by and credit to netizenbuzz, their interview as well as the preview to the interview went on as so:




Preview:
"It wasn't bullying... We didn't know about the leave [until they read articles in the media]"


Full Interview:
Hyomin: "When I was in high school, there were rumors about me being an iljin. It was only because I was friends with those type of kids in my neighborhood, but I wasn't anything more than that. There were also rumors that I had assaulted my friends and forced them to transfer out of the school. I never once hit anybody. I'd rather someone came forward and claimed themselves as a victim if that were the case." When asked about her transfer, "I transferred schools because it was a decision made by my mom who wanted me to study at a higher level school because I had such an ardor for it. It wasn't at all because I bullied anyone. The reason I never said anything about it at the time was because I didn't want anyone to make fun of my friends because of me.

Eunjung: "I can see why people would think of it as bullying if they only saw what was revealed online. But I also had my own bullying rumors. Between the two days that the scandal occurred, we did get into a fight with Hwayoung. I admit that it was wrong of us to use Twitter to publicly express ourselves like that. The fact that we posted those things on Twitter was wrong in and of itself. The longer we stayed quiet, the bigger the misunderstandings and the rumors got. At one point, even we wondered of we were bullies because the internet made it seem that way. I was always proud of the fact that I had lived without anything to be embarrassed of, so it was miserable for me to feel like I had become a horrible person."

Eunjung: "Whenever an article about us is released, there are a lot of hateful comments on them. I read them at first because I was curious but I can no longer read them because they make me feel so down."

Hyomin: "The hateful comment that upset me the most was when Soyeon unni was in a car accident and someone wrote, 'Just die.' They even claimed the accident was manipulated. The actual accident was serious enough so that Soyeon unni was hurled out of the car."Hyomin: "After there was a fight in Japan, we had a 'Music Bank' schedule right after it. It was an awkward moment for us. We talked for about 40 minutes with Hwayoung in Korea. It was a stage that we had all dreamt of standing on and I didn't want to go on it with a fight."

Hyomin + Eunjung: "After the scandal, we had to make a public appearance. We couldn't say anything about it given the situation and it frustrated us to the point where it bothered us in our dreams. I just wanted to say two things: 'I'm sorry and I'll work harder.' If we had explained what had actually happened, the scandal would've gotten bigger. We wanted to tell the truth. We wanted to admit what was true and explain what was wrong and promise to reflect. But to the public, we became kids that did nothing."

Jiyeon: "Because we had already worked with each other for three years, I understand it might've been difficult for Hwayoung to fit in with the members. I bet it was hard for her to adjust to T-ara..."

Group: "If we had really hated Hwayoung, I don't think there would've even been a fight. But because of us, Hwayoung must've been really upset and lonely. Whatever the reason, we're just sorry that as public figures, we caused what we did."






And though their confession seems quite believable (excuse the 'Oh em gee! We never knew Hwayoung was gonna get kicked out till the articles were released!' spiel) Korean netizens think otherwise, immediately giving T-ara the bull shit they've been getting since the day the scandal happened.





Article: T-ara opens up for the first time on iljin-bullying rumorsSource: TV Report via Nate
2. [+868, -35] I don't even care about these explanations, just stop coming out on TV. It's obvious their tears are fake and a ploy for sympathy. 
3. [+291, -11] Is she crazy? She just said she's sorry that Hwayoung couldn't adjust to T-ara... in less than a year ㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋ Wow, they're worse than I thought


Article: T-ara N4 Hyomin tearfully explains iljin rumors "I never hit anyone"Source: TV Report via Nate
1. [+694, -24] They have such a strong determination to deny reality
3. [+497, -20] I'm going to be like T-ara and live shamelessly... It's really hard to make money and live these days, you know.


Article: T-ara Eunjung's honest confession "After the rice cake incident, I can't eat rice cakes in public"Source: Newsen via Nate
2. [+534, -18] You're the one that force fed Hwayoung rice cakes, why are you making yourself sound like the victim? And Newsen, stop writing positive articles about T-ara unless you want to drop to the same level as them
3. [+474, -11] Don't ever eat rice cakes again, forever

Article: T-ara 'bullying scandal' tearful confession "We wanted to talk about it"Source: Star News via Nate2. [+1,113, -55] It's suspicious how they answer as soon as they're asked a question, like it's all preplanned ㅋㅋ
3. [+987, -59] Your tears are fake...
4. [+815, -35] Doesn't matter, it's too late now. You guys can't turn back time. 
5. [+772, -34] It's too late for you guys... Time didn't solve your problems, it became your poison. 



Although the Korean netizen backlash was more than expected... and some of it, if not most of it was completely unnecessary, I can't help but to agree and ask some of the same questions some of the netizens are asking themselves.

Didn't T-ara already know Hwayoung was going to get the boot from before the media opened up about it? Why are they acting like their oblivious, innocent and like they were under a rock the whole time it happened? Are they lying about that one, small measly fact? If they're lying about that, what makes me want to believe the rest of what they said?
Did they just apologize for Hwayoung not bonding with them instead of them not bonding with Hwayoung
Hyomin was accused of being an iljin in high school? Can I have more information on that? How can she not be an iljin but all the other people she hung out with be iljins?
Where the fuck is Dani?

With all these questions unanswered and my mind still indecisive and confused about the final confession from the members, I have to say, I really doubt T-ara even coming back and repairing the damage after this point... whether or not Hwayoung comes out, too and reveals a story that puts them in the clear.
Instead of spending a year hiding and avoiding it, I really think it would have been better to reveal this later, as one netizen saying, time didn't solve their problems but instead really became their poison.


What do you think of the first confession after their scandal? Do you think T-ara's innocent and doesn't deserve the hate or are guilty and do deserve it?
Also, thanks netizenbuzz for the translation of the preview, interview and comments!



Like our stuff? Follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

- Copyright © K-Pop Ranter - K-Pop Ranter - About - Contact Us! -

Google Analytics Alternative